Georgia to host 2023 UEFA European Under-21 Championship says Irakli Karseladze

Georgia: Irakli Karseladze, Georgia’s Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure, announced on Tuesday that Georgia would host the UEFA European Under-21 Championship in 2023.

The football championship, including the final phase, would be hosted in Georgia, according to Karseladze, who added that the Ministry’s Municipal Development Fund would contribute around GEL100 million (about $32 million/€30 million) to the initiative.

Moreover, the budget which is set aside for the UEFA European Under-21 Championship will be used for repair works as well as the construction of new football stadiums in the western part of Kutaisi, the resort town of Tskaltubo, and the Black Sea coastal cities of Batumi and Kobuleti.

The project will include the construction of 12 UEFA-standard infrastructure facilities, including stadiums and training facilities.

According to the sources, the construction of stadiums that will start this year will be completed in 2023.

Furthermore, the championship will take place from June 21 through July 8.

Georgia hosted the 2017 U19 EURO while the 2015 UEFA Super Cup was played in Tbilisi, as were the 2013 UEFA Futsal Cup finals.



Previous hosts

16 teams

2021: Hungary & Slovenia (winners: Germany)

12 teams

2019: Italy

2017: Poland

8 teams

2015: Czech Republic

2013: Israel

2011: Denmark

2009: Sweden

2007: Netherlands

2006: Portugal

2004: Germany

2002: Switzerland

2000: Slovakia

1998: Romania

1996: Spain

1994: France


Past finals

UEFA European Under-21 Championship

2021: Germany 1-0 Portugal

2019: Spain 2-1 Germany

2017: Germany 1-0 Spain

2015: Sweden 0-0, 4-3p Portugal

2013: Spain 4-2 Italy

2011: Spain 2-0 Switzerland

2009: Germany 4-0 England

2007: Netherlands 4-1 Serbia

2006: Netherlands 3-0 Ukraine

2004: Italy 4-0 Serbia and Montenegro

2002: Czech Republic 0-0, 3-1p France

2000: Italy 2-1 Czech Republic

1998: Spain 1-0 Greece

1996: Italy 1-1, 4-2p Spain

1994: Italy 1-0aet Portugal

1992: Italy 2-1agg Sweden

1990: Soviet Union 7-3agg Yugoslavia

1988: France 3-0agg Greece

1986: Spain 3-3agg, 3-0p Italy

1984: England 3-0agg Spain

1982: England 5-4agg West Germany

1980: Soviet Union 1-0agg East Germany

1978: Yugoslavia 5-4agg East Germany


Zurab Kvaratskhelia

Recent Posts

Georgian Education Minister attends conference on English

Giorgi Amilakhvar, Georgian Minister of Education and Science, participated in the conference on english. Conference…

19 hours ago

U.S. State Department releases report on Terrorism for 2022

The United States Department of State has released a report on Terrorism for 2022. In…

24 hours ago

Georgia: Prosecutor’s Office Book One for Murder

As per the information released by the enforcement agencies of Georgia ,Prosecutor Office Has charged…

24 hours ago

ADB President Masatsugu Asakava visits to Georgia

The President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) Masatsugu Asakava visited Georgia and met the…

1 day ago

5th Stage of “Rule Your City” Program Over

The 5th stage of the program, namely "Rule your City", has been concluded recently to…

1 day ago

Dominica’s condolences on death of Dr Carissa F. Etienne

The Government of Dominica are deeply saddened by the loss of their distinguished daughter, Dr…

1 day ago