Dominica: Its DLP in power, for yet another time

Dominica: The Dominica Labour Party, for the sixth time in a row, has turned out victorious in the General Elections that were held on December 6, 2022. Dr Roosevelt Skerrit led DLP bagged victory on 19 out of 21 seats, where the independent candidates secured victory on the remaining two seats. 

Castle Bruce exhibited the highest voter turnout amongst the constituencies. PM Skerrit thanked the supporters for their unconditional support and trust over the years, which has pushed the DLP towards victory.

The DLP has continued its victorious triumph since 2000 under the administration of Rosie Douglas and Dr Roosevelt Skerrit and this has been its sixth continuous win in the General Elections and the sixth time for Skerrit to lead the country. The opposition UWP had already backed from six constituencies, thereby paving the way to easy victory for DLP.

PM Skerrit will continue to be the Parliamentary Representative of the Vielle Case constituency, while Dr Irving Francis for Roseau Valley. 

Similarly, Darren Pinard, Roland Royer, Lakeyia Lennicia Jamelle Joseph and Jullan B.G Defoe will remain the Parliamentary Representatives of Colihaut, Cottage, Paix Bouche and Petite Savanne Constituencies, respectively.

From the Grand Bay Constituency, DLP’s Vince Henderson maintained a victorious margin of 1139 votes while opposition Team Unity Dominica’s Lyndon Peters bagged the second position with 17 votes in his bag.

Melissa Poponne-Skerrit had 92% voters in her favour, receiving 1023 votes and continues to represent Roseau Central at the Parliament, whereas the Independent candidate, Karshma Richards, received 48 votes.

Octavia Alfred, from the Castle Bruce Constituency, received 782 votes(85.09%), whereas the Independent candidate Kelvin Cadette secured 137 votes.

Polling of 94.65% was recorded for Dr Cassandra Williams, bagging 690 votes, while TUD’s Jason Fontaine won 39 votes(5.35%); Mahaut constituency to be represented by Cassani C Laville who claimed 2016(96.18%) votes.

The Grand Fond Constituency elected Gretta Bernadette Roberts, with 571 voters in favour, and the Portsmouth Constituency to be represented by Fenella Wenham(916 votes). 

From the Roseau North, Miriam Alethea Blanchard bagged 1476 votes(87.70%) and in Roseau South, Chekira Nikisha Sara Lockhart won 1739 votes.

From Salybia Constituency, Cozier Pius Frederick secured 66.93% votes( 334), while the independent candidate won 33% of votes. DLP’s Darron Lloyd received 91 votes from St Joseph Constituency, whereas TUD hardly managed a single vote.

Soufriere Constituency witnessed the victory of Denise Charles with 1236 votes and Independent candidate Tahira Blanchard received 77 votes and Fidel Grant secured 717 from Wesley Constituency.

The Independent Candidates from Marigot Constituency, Anthony S. Charles won the seat with 491 votes as well as Jesma Paul won with 617 votes, defeating DLP’s Lynsia Frank from Salisbury Constituency.


Zurab Kvaratskhelia

Recent Posts

Georgian army receives BMC VURAN vehicle from Turkey

The defense forces of Georgia have received Turkey-made “BMC VURAN” vehicles from Turkey under agreeement…

2 hours ago

Voluneer program “Green Education”  held  with NGOs support

According to organization  “volunteer. Ge ” a dedicated volunteership event was held under the theme…

3 hours ago

Reconstruction of Khulo-Zarzmi road in full swing

The work of reconstructing the Khulo-Zarzmi section on the Batumi (Angisa)—Akhaltsikhi highway is going on…

4 hours ago

BSIU signs MoU with Centre for Mental Health

The administration of Black Sea International University has signed a memorandum of understanding with the…

5 hours ago

Georgian delegation attends meeting of UN World Tourism Organisation

The  National Administration of Tourism , Georgia’s  delegation  participates in the 121st session of the…

6 hours ago

Tbilisi State Concert Hall hosts Kutaisi State Academic Ensemble

The Kutaisi State Academic Ensemble of Song and Dance concert was held in Tbilisi State…

6 hours ago