Tbilisi, Georgia: In honour of the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the Nersisian Theological School, the opening ceremony of the exhibition “Tbilisi Nersisian Theological School 200” took place at Caucasus University.
The exhibition presented more than 200 archival documents and photographs kept in Armenian and Georgian national archives and national libraries.
Georgian Minister of Education, Science and Youth Giorgi Amilakhvari, Minister of Territorial Management and Infrastructure of the Republic of Armenia Gnel Sanosiani, President of Caucasus University Kakha Shengelia and other high-ranking guests from Armenia and Georgia were present at the exhibition.
At the end of the event, the opening ceremony of the memorial plaque on the history of the Caucasus University building was held.
In honour of the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the Nersisian Theological School, the exhibition “Tbilisi Nersisian Theological School 200” opened at Caucasus University.
The exhibition showcased over 200 archival documents and photographs stored in Armenia and Georgia’s national archives and libraries.
The opening ceremony of the exhibition was attended by Giorgi Amilakhvari, Minister of Education, Science, and Youth of Georgia, Gnel Sanosyan, Minister of Territorial Administration and Infrastructures of the Republic of Armenia, Kakha Shengelia, President of Caucasus University, and other distinguished guests from both Armenia and Georgia.
The event concluded with unveiling a memorial board depicting the history of the Caucasus University building.
Nersisian School was an Armenian higher education institution in the city of Tiflis, then Russian Empire (now Tbilisi, Georgia). It operated precisely for one century, from 1824 to 1924. It was founded by Bishop Nerses V Ashtaraketsi, the Armenian primate of the Diocese of Georgia, after whom it was named.
In the 19th century, Tiflis (Tbilisi) was a prominent Armenian Cultural centre with a large Armenian population. Numerous Armenian schools, publications, drama associations and societies, charities and nonprofit organizations functioned in the city. The Nersisian School officially opened in 1824 and had a unique role in Eastern Armenian education throughout its existence.